Soundbar Reviews (76 Reviews)


Sony HT-Z9F Sound Bar and SA-Z9R Wireless Surround Speakers Reviewed

Sony HT-Z9F Sound Bar and SA-Z9R Wireless Surround Speakers Reviewed

Immersive object-based surround sound from a soundbar with minimal setup muss and fuss? Seriously? Scott Wasser says it's totally a thing thanks to Sony's HT-Z9F/SA-Z9R combo. Continue Reading

Soundbar Reviews

As flat-panel HDTVs have gotten increasingly thinner, so has their sound quality. The soundbar was born to provide a higher-quality audio experience than your HDTV delivers in a convenient all-in-one box. Most soundbars on the market are active (or powered), combining the speakers, amplification, and audio inputs (sometimes video inputs, too) into one box that sits near your TV. Some manufacturers offer passive (non-powered) left/center/right soundbars to replace the front channels in a surround sound setup. These days, the configurations are endless: Soundbars can have two, three, five, or even seven speaker channels. Sometimes they’re packaged with separate surrounds and/or subwoofers, and sometimes they’re not. Check out our review archive below to read about the latest entries to this popular category.

Five Tips to Pick the Right Soundbar

Nobody has more of the best soundbars reviewed than Home Theater Review. Check out this list of reviews.

Soundbar Reviews Archives

Apr 09, 2018

HEOS Bar Three-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

I have a weird confession to make. Over the past few years, I've reviewed a handful of receivers with HEOS... Continue Reading
HEOS Bar Three-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

Feb 26, 2018

Integra DLB-5 Object-Based Soundbar System Reviewed

Myron Ho auditions Integra's DLB-5 object-based soundbar system, which combines a standalone AV receiver, Atmos-friendly soundbar, and wireless subwoofer to deliver more flexibility and options than your average powered soundbar. Continue Reading
Integra DLB-5 Object-Based Soundbar System Reviewed

Dec 18, 2017

Home Theater Review's Best of 2017 Awards

It's that time of year again--when the HomeTheaterReview.com staff looks at all of the products we reviewed this year and picks the best of the best. We've tried to hit all the product categories and price points. We hope you enjoy our Best of 2017 list. Continue Reading
Home Theater Review's Best of 2017 Awards

Jul 31, 2017

MartinLogan Cadence Three-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

Sean Killebrew auditions MartinLogan's Cadence three-channel soundbar, which uses a total of nine drivers and features HDMI video pass-through, Anthem Room Correction, Bluetooth, AirPlay, and DTS Play-Fi. Continue Reading
MartinLogan Cadence Three-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

Jul 19, 2017

Samsung Sound+ HW-MS650 Three-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

Samsung's Sound+ HW-MS650 ($399.99) is a three-channel soundbar that uses nine built-in speakers (three tweeters and six mid/bass drivers), each... Continue Reading
Samsung Sound+ HW-MS650 Three-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

Jul 05, 2017

LG Sound Bar Flex SJ7 2.1-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

LG's new Sound Bar Flex SJ7 ($399.99) is a three-piece surround sound system that includes two speaker units and a... Continue Reading
LG Sound Bar Flex SJ7 2.1-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

May 29, 2017

Paradigm PW Three-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

Dennis Burger auditions Paradigm's PW soundbar, a three-channel soundbar that features Anthem Room Correction, HDMI/HDR pass-through, and network functions like DTS PlayFi and Airplay. Continue Reading
Paradigm PW Three-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

May 01, 2017

Polk MagniFi Mini 2.1-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

Adrienne Maxwell auditions Polk's MagniFi Mini 2.1-channel soundbar system. The Mini soundbar uses Polk's patented SDA technology to produce a much broader soundstage than you'd expect from such a petite package. Continue Reading
Polk MagniFi Mini 2.1-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

Mar 13, 2017

Fluance AB40 Soundbase Reviewed

Adrienne Maxwell auditions the AB40 soundbase from Fluance. This one-piece, two-channel solution features a total of six drivers powered by a 120-watt Class D amplifier, as well as Bluetooth with aptX. Continue Reading
Fluance AB40 Soundbase Reviewed

Feb 27, 2017

Yamaha YSP-5600 7.1.2-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

Greg Handy auditions Yamaha's YSP-5600 soundbar, an Atmos-capable 7.1.2-channel soundbar with HDMI video switching, Bluetooth, and MusicCast multiroom audio support. Continue Reading
Yamaha YSP-5600 7.1.2-Channel Soundbar Reviewed

Dec 05, 2016

Home Theater Review's Best of 2016 Awards

'Tis the season for Home Theater Review's annual best-of list, where we select the best products we've reviewed in the past 12 months. Continue Reading
Home Theater Review's Best of 2016 Awards

Oct 12, 2016

VIZIO SB4551-D5 5.1-Channel Soundbar System Reviewed

Adrienne Maxwell auditions VIZIO's SB4551-D5 soundbar system, which features a powered three-channel soundbar, an 8-inch subwoofer, and dedicated surrounds in a petite package. Continue Reading
VIZIO SB4551-D5 5.1-Channel Soundbar System Reviewed

Aug 01, 2016

Atlantic Technology 3.1 HSB H-PAS TV Speaker Base System Reviewed

Dennis Burger explores Atlantic Technology's 3.1 HSB speaker base, which combines a passive three-channel L/C/R soundbar with a powered bass unit and the company's H-PAS technology to improve low-frequency response. Continue Reading
Atlantic Technology 3.1 HSB H-PAS TV Speaker Base System Reviewed

Dec 07, 2015

Home Theater Review's Best of 2015 Awards

It's that time of year again--time for the HomeTheaterReview.com staff to pick the products that we feel represent the best of the best from all of our 2015 reviews. We've covered a variety of categories and price points. See if your faves made the list. Continue Reading
Home Theater Review's Best of 2015 Awards

Oct 28, 2015

GoldenEar SuperCinema 3D Array XL Soundbar Reviewed

Brian Kahn reviews one of GoldenEar's second-generation SuperCinema 3D Array soundbars. The XL model is a passive L/C/R soundbar that's designed to be mated with larger, 65-inch-plus TVs. Continue Reading
GoldenEar SuperCinema 3D Array XL Soundbar Reviewed

Aug 17, 2015

Cambridge Audio TV2 Speaker Base Reviewed

Sean Killebrew explores the TV2 speaker base from Cambridge Audio, which is designed to sit under your TV and provide a higher-quality audio experience than you'll get from your TV speakers or a basic soundbar. Continue Reading
Cambridge Audio TV2 Speaker Base Reviewed

Apr 13, 2015

Focal Dimension Soundbar and Subwoofer Reviewed

Sean Killebrew reviews Focal's 450-watt, five-channel Dimension soundbar and its optional passive subwoofer, a combination that presents a few setup challenges but delivers big on performance. Continue Reading
Focal Dimension Soundbar and Subwoofer Reviewed

Dec 01, 2014

Home Theater Review's Best of 2014 Awards

Home Theater Review presents its Best of 2014 Awards. We've surveyed all the products reviewed over the past year and selected the ones we think are the most compelling. Check out our list and see if your 2014 favorites made the grade. Continue Reading
Home Theater Review's Best of 2014 Awards

Jun 02, 2014

Sonance SB46 Passive Soundbar Reviewed

Brent Butterworth sheds light on the new Sonance SB46 soundbar. Unlike most soundbars, this one can extend to fit your TV. Is it a must-have feature or a neat gimmick? Read on to find out. Continue Reading
Sonance SB46 Passive Soundbar Reviewed

May 21, 2014

OSD Audio SP2.1 Sound Platform

Not quite a speaker, not quite a sound bar, the OSD Audio SP2.1 Sound Platform takes up very little space beneath your television. But does it make the compromise worthwhile and deliver quality audio. You might be surprised . . . Continue Reading
OSD Audio SP2.1 Sound Platform

More Soundbar Reviews: