Amplifier Reviews (243 Reviews)


Control4 Triad One Streaming Amplifier Reviewed

Control4 Triad One Streaming Amplifier Reviewed

Over the past few years, I've seen integrated amplifiers progress in ways that outpace the rest of the traditional, high-end two-channel audio market. I'm not saying that the integration of features like AirPlay, Bluetooth, streaming audio, and native DSD is... Continue Reading

Amplifier Reviews

Alongside the AV preamp or stereo preamp, an amplifier is the second piece of a separates-based audio system—it provides the power for your speakers. Going the separates route is generally considered to be the higher-performance option, as opposed to using an all-in-one AV receiver, because the manufacturer can focus more on selecting just the right components and design elements for that device’s specific function. And you can focus on choosing the right amplifier technology (Class A, Class AB, Class D, etc.) and configuration (mono, stereo, five-channel, etc.) for your needs. Learn more about amplifiers through the Resources below, then check out our review archive to read the latest amplifier reviews.

AV Receivers vs. AV Separates: Which Is Right for You?
How to Pick the Right Amp for Your Speakers (or Vice Versa)
What’s So Irresistible About a Single-Ended Triode (SET) Amp?
Amplifier Types Explained from Electronic House

Mono, Stereo, Multichannel, Class A, Class AB and Digital Switching amps are reviewed from the top makers in the audiophile business.

Amplifier Reviews Archives

Jan 01, 2018

Bryston 14B³ Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Greg Handy auditions Bryston's 14B³ stereo amplifier, a Class AB design rated at 600 watts per channel at eight ohms and 900 watts per channel at four ohms. Continue Reading
Bryston 14B³ Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Dec 18, 2017

Home Theater Review's Best of 2017 Awards

It's that time of year again--when the HomeTheaterReview.com staff looks at all of the products we reviewed this year and picks the best of the best. We've tried to hit all the product categories and price points. We hope you enjoy our Best of 2017 list. Continue Reading
Home Theater Review's Best of 2017 Awards

Oct 30, 2017

Naim Uniti Atom All-in-One Wireless Music Player Reviewed

Dennis Burger explores the Uniti Atom all-in-one wireless music player from Naim. This audiophile music system combines a streaming audio player and DAC with a Class AB integrated amplifier and stereo-preamp capabilities for $2,999. Continue Reading
Naim Uniti Atom All-in-One Wireless Music Player Reviewed

May 10, 2017

Benchmark AHB2 Reference Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Every enthusiast, audiophile, and equipment reviewer has different criteria for selecting reference equipment. Some embrace gear based just on sound... Continue Reading
Benchmark AHB2 Reference Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Jan 09, 2017

Classé Sigma 2200i Stereo Integrated Amplifier Reviewed

Dennis Burger reviews Classé's Sigma 2200i integrated amplifier, which embraces some features not commonly found on an integrated amp--like HDMI video switching and AirPlay support. Continue Reading
Classé Sigma 2200i Stereo Integrated Amplifier Reviewed

Dec 14, 2016

Wadia a102 Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Wadia Digital was founded in 1988 by engineers formerly from 3M (Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing Company) who believed in the... Continue Reading
Wadia a102 Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Dec 05, 2016

Home Theater Review's Best of 2016 Awards

'Tis the season for Home Theater Review's annual best-of list, where we select the best products we've reviewed in the past 12 months. Continue Reading
Home Theater Review's Best of 2016 Awards

Nov 30, 2016

Linear Tube Audio ZOTL40 MK.II Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

After my amazing experience reviewing the MicroZOTL2.0 preamplifier back in May, I was informed by Mark Schneider, owner/engineer of Linear... Continue Reading
Linear Tube Audio ZOTL40 MK.II Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Nov 07, 2016

Pass Labs INT-60 Integrated Amplifier Reviewed

Terry London explores the Pass Labs INT-60, a 60-watt integrated amplifier (the first 30 watts are pure Class A) with balanced inputs and outputs. Continue Reading
Pass Labs INT-60 Integrated Amplifier Reviewed

Sep 21, 2016

Pass Labs XA30.8 Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Ben Shyman explores the XA30.8 from Pass Labs. This 30-watt stereo amplifier is a Class A solid-state design with an MSRP of $6,800. Continue Reading
Pass Labs XA30.8 Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Aug 22, 2016

Lyngdorf Audio TDAI-2170 Integrated Amplifier Reviewed

Greg Handy reviews Lyngdorf Audio's TDAI-2170 integrated amplifier, which is rated at 170 watts per channel and has a modular design that allows for different input/output configurations. Continue Reading
Lyngdorf Audio TDAI-2170 Integrated Amplifier Reviewed

Jul 04, 2016

Monoprice Monolith 7 Seven-Channel Amplifier Reviewed

Dennis Burger reviews Monoprice's new $1,499 Monolith 7 seven-channel amplifier, a Class AB design with a power rating of 200 watts per channel. Continue Reading
Monoprice Monolith 7 Seven-Channel Amplifier Reviewed

Mar 14, 2016

Rotel RC-1590 Stereo Preamplifier and RB-1590 Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Greg Handy reviews the new RC-1590 stereo preamp and RB-1590 stereo amplifier from Rotel. See how the dynamic duo performs in this week's featured review. Continue Reading
Rotel RC-1590 Stereo Preamplifier and RB-1590 Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Feb 15, 2016

Outlaw Audio Model 5000 Amplifier Reviewed

Myron Ho reviews Outlaw Audio's Model 5000 amplifier, a five-channel, Class AB design rated at 120 watts per channel that's priced at just $599. Continue Reading
Outlaw Audio Model 5000 Amplifier Reviewed

Jan 25, 2016

Red Dragon Audio S500 Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Bob Barrett reviews the $1,999 S500 stereo amplifier from Red Dragon Audio. This small 12-pound amplifier uses an S-Pro2 Class D amplifier module and is rated at 2 x 250 watts at eight ohms. Read on to see what Bob thought of its performance. Continue Reading
Red Dragon Audio S500 Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Jan 13, 2016

Magnus Audio MA-400 Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

At the beginning of last year, I reviewed the superlative-sounding Canary Audio reference KD-2000 DSD tube DAC. Canary Audio designs... Continue Reading
Magnus Audio MA-400 Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Dec 07, 2015

Home Theater Review's Best of 2015 Awards

It's that time of year again--time for the HomeTheaterReview.com staff to pick the products that we feel represent the best of the best from all of our 2015 reviews. We've covered a variety of categories and price points. See if your faves made the list. Continue Reading
Home Theater Review's Best of 2015 Awards

Nov 30, 2015

Paradigm Premium Wireless Series PW AMP Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Paradigm has thrown its support behind the DTS Play-Fi wireless multi-room audio platform with the introduction of the new Premium Wireless Series. Dennis Burger reviews the PW AMP, a small stereo amplifier that features Play-Fi and Anthem Room Correction. Continue Reading
Paradigm Premium Wireless Series PW AMP Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Nov 18, 2015

Pro-ject Audio Systems MaiA Integrated Amplifier Reviewed

Greg Handy reviews the micro-sized MaiA from Pro-Ject Audio Systems, a fully featured integrated amplifier/DAC/streamer that costs just $499. Continue Reading
Pro-ject Audio Systems MaiA Integrated Amplifier Reviewed

Nov 16, 2015

Pass Labs X250.8 Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

Terry London reviews the X250.8 Class AB stereo amplifier from Pass Labs, a 100-pound beauty that's rated at 250 watts into eight ohms. Continue Reading
Pass Labs X250.8 Stereo Amplifier Reviewed

More Amplifier Reviews: