Subwoofer Reviews (104 Reviews)


Home Theater Review's Best of 2018 Awards

Home Theater Review's Best of 2018 Awards

Here at the end of 2018, we at HomeTheaterReview.com look back at all the products we reviewed this year and pick the best of the bunch, from budget favorites to aspirational flagship products. Continue Reading

Subwoofer Reviews

A subwoofer is designed to deliver the low-frequency effects (or LFE) channel in a surround soundtrack, as well as to fill in the lower bass frequencies when listening to music. Want to feel the low-end rumble of a spaceship fly-over or explosion in your favorite film soundtrack? Then you need a good subwoofer (or two … or more!). Setting up a subwoofer used to require a lot of guess work, but modern subwoofers tend to feature internal amps, EQ systems, and room correction software—making it easier to integrate your subwoofer with your floorstanding speakers or bookshelf speakers. Check out the Resources below to learn more about subwoofer use and placement.

How to Choose a Subwoofer for Surround Sound or Stereo
The Pros and Cons of Multiple Subwoofers
Why Subwoofer Distortion Is Different From Amplifier Distortion
Active Subwoofers vs Passive Subwoofers

Wanna go low? We've got a full complement of subwoofer reviews from top brands, ranging from compact lifestyle models to full-blown reference subs.

Subwoofer Reviews Archives

Dec 03, 2018

MartinLogan Dynamo 600X Subwoofer Reviewed

Perfect for small rooms that need some help in the bass department, the Dynamo 600X boasts full app control and Anthem Room Correction capabilities. Continue Reading
MartinLogan Dynamo 600X Subwoofer Reviewed

May 07, 2018

Monitor Audio Silver 100 Speaker System Reviewed

Sean Killebrew explores Monitor Audio's Silver 100 bookshelf speaker, plus other models from the Silver Series lineup: the Silver C150 center, Silver 50 bookshelf speaker, and Silver W-12 subwoofer. Continue Reading
Monitor Audio Silver 100 Speaker System Reviewed

Jan 08, 2018

SVS PB-4000 Subwoofer Reviewed

Perhaps the most banal thing I could do in the introduction to a review of SVS's new PB-4000 subwoofer would... Continue Reading
SVS PB-4000 Subwoofer Reviewed

Dec 18, 2017

Home Theater Review's Best of 2017 Awards

It's that time of year again--when the HomeTheaterReview.com staff looks at all of the products we reviewed this year and picks the best of the best. We've tried to hit all the product categories and price points. We hope you enjoy our Best of 2017 list. Continue Reading
Home Theater Review's Best of 2017 Awards

Feb 20, 2017

RSL Speedwoofer 10S Subwoofer Reviewed

Dennis Burger auditions RSL's Speedwoofer 10S subwoofer, which houses a 10-inch woofer and 350-watt Class D amp in a modestly sized, ported cabinet. Also modest is the sub's asking price: $399. Continue Reading
RSL Speedwoofer 10S Subwoofer Reviewed

Jan 16, 2017

SVS SB16-Ultra Subwoofer Reviewed

With the new 16-Ultra Series, SVS has introduced its most powerful subwoofers to date. Brent Butterworth tests the new SB16-Ultra, a sealed-box design with a 16-inch woofer and a 1,500-watt Class D amplifier. Continue Reading
SVS SB16-Ultra Subwoofer Reviewed

Dec 05, 2016

Home Theater Review's Best of 2016 Awards

'Tis the season for Home Theater Review's annual best-of list, where we select the best products we've reviewed in the past 12 months. Continue Reading
Home Theater Review's Best of 2016 Awards

Aug 29, 2016

PSB SubSeries 450 Subwoofer Reviewed

Brent Butterworth reviews PSB's $1,499 SubSeries 450 subwoofer, which combines two 10-inch passive radiators with a 12-inch active driver powered by a 400-watt RMS Class D amplifier. Continue Reading
PSB SubSeries 450 Subwoofer Reviewed

May 30, 2016

THIEL SmartSub 1.12 Subwoofer Reviewed

Brent Butterworth reviews THIEL Audio's new SmartSub 1.12 subwoofer, which features a 12-inch driver, a 1,250-watt Class D amplifier, and an advanced built-in room correction system . Continue Reading
THIEL SmartSub 1.12 Subwoofer Reviewed

Mar 28, 2016

OEM Systems ICBM Subwoofer System Reviewed

Want the benefits of multiple subs without the big boxes? Brent Butterworth tests the ICBM in-wall subwoofer system from OEM Systems, which includes four eight-inch in-wall subwoofers driven by a single P-500XB amplifier. Continue Reading
OEM Systems ICBM Subwoofer System Reviewed

Feb 08, 2016

Paradigm Prestige 2000SW Subwoofer Reviewed

Brent Butterworth reviews Paradigm's Prestige 2000SW subwoofer, which features a 15-inch driver, a 2,000-watt Class D amplifier, a variety of attractive finishes, and the company's excellent Perfect Bass Kit. Continue Reading
Paradigm Prestige 2000SW Subwoofer Reviewed

Jan 20, 2016

Origin Acoustics Bassic SUB8 Subwoofer Reviewed

If you're in the market for subwoofer, you have plenty of options. The first step to narrow your choices is... Continue Reading
Origin Acoustics Bassic SUB8 Subwoofer Reviewed

Jan 11, 2016

Power Sound Audio S3600i Subwoofer Reviewed

Brent Butterworth reviews the S3600i subwoofer from Power Sound Audio. This muscular sub combines two 18-inch drivers and a 1,700-watt Class D amp in a 137-pound cabinet. How does it perform? Read on to find out... Continue Reading
Power Sound Audio S3600i Subwoofer Reviewed

Dec 07, 2015

Home Theater Review's Best of 2015 Awards

It's that time of year again--time for the HomeTheaterReview.com staff to pick the products that we feel represent the best of the best from all of our 2015 reviews. We've covered a variety of categories and price points. See if your faves made the list. Continue Reading
Home Theater Review's Best of 2015 Awards

Nov 23, 2015

Artison RCC Nano 1 Subwoofer Reviewed

Brent Butterworth reviews Artison's first freestanding subwoofer, the RCC Nano 1. This micro sub measures just 7.5 by eight by nine inches and uses two 6.5-inch drivers and a 300-watt Class D amp. Continue Reading
Artison RCC Nano 1 Subwoofer Reviewed

Nov 09, 2015

Sunfire XTEQ12 Subwoofer Reviewed

Brent Butterworth auditions the XTEQ12 subwoofer from Sunfire. This top-of-the-line $2,000 sub features a 12-inch driver, a 12-inch passive radiator, and a 3,000-watt amplifier. Continue Reading
Sunfire XTEQ12 Subwoofer Reviewed

Sep 14, 2015

Klipsch R-115SW Subwoofer Reviewed

Brent Butterworth reviews Klipsch's $899 R-115SW subwoofer, a ported design that uses a 15-inch Cerametallic driver and an 800-watt Class D amplifier. Continue Reading
Klipsch R-115SW Subwoofer Reviewed

Jul 27, 2015

Sumiko S.9 Subwoofer Reviewed

Brent Butterworth reviews Sumiko's new $999 S.9 subwoofer, which features a 10-inch driver, a 10-inch passive radiator, a 350-watt RMS Class AB amp, and connection options that the audiophile will appreciate. Continue Reading
Sumiko S.9 Subwoofer Reviewed

Dec 29, 2014

The Pioneer SW-8MK2 Meets the Meters

Our previous review of Pioneer's $160 SW-8MK2 subwoofer certainly generated some chatter, so we asked Brent Butterworth to dig a little deeper. How did the SW-8MK2 (both the stock and modified versions) perform on his test bench. Read on to find out. Continue Reading
The Pioneer SW-8MK2 Meets the Meters

Dec 17, 2014

M&K Sound X12 Subwoofer Reviewed

Bob Barrett explores M&K Sound's flagship X12 subwoofer, which uses two 12-inch drivers in a push-pull configuration and a Class D amplifier rated at 400 watts continuous and 700 watts peak. Continue Reading
M&K Sound X12 Subwoofer Reviewed

More Subwoofer Reviews: