Subwoofer Reviews (114 Reviews)

subwoofer
Read Now

HomeTheaterReview's Subwoofer Buyer's Guide


Subwoofer Reviews Archives

Jan 10, 2009

Spendor S-3 Subwoofer Reviewed

Our reviewer was impressed with the way the Sub-3 performed overall. The Spendor's sound quality is "smooth" especially when it is playing pure music, and it offers "finesse and subtlety." While its appearance was exactly what one would expect from a subwoofer, it scored well in acoustics Continue Reading
Spendor S-3 Subwoofer Reviewed

Jan 02, 2009

Sunfire True Subwoofer EQ Signature Reviewed

Our reviewer was impressed with this model, noting the value of the room correction software. "This is a rock and roll subwoofer that can play loud and remain musical all the way...Audiophiles will be surprised that this woofer can hang with $10,000 per pair speakers" Continue Reading
Sunfire True Subwoofer EQ Signature Reviewed

Jan 02, 2009

Wilson Audio Thor's Hammer Subwoofer Reviewed

The Thor model can reach 16 Hertz at full volume. "The fit and finish of Wilson speakers are the best in the business. No speaker is more luxurious...It doesn't get any bigger, badder or more lust-worthy in the world of subwoofers than Wilson Audio's Thor's Hammer...If you don't have Thor's Hammer...you don't have real bass" Continue Reading
Wilson Audio Thor's Hammer Subwoofer Reviewed

Jan 02, 2009

Definitive Technology Super Cube Reference Subwoofer Reviewed

The Super Cube provides "Earth-shattering volumes of deep and tight bass...with a depth and volume not usually heard" in larger and more expensive competitors. Because this model has a lot of inputs and outputs, it can easily fit into almost any situation and set up is fairly easy and straightforward Continue Reading
Definitive Technology Super Cube Reference Subwoofer Reviewed

Dec 30, 2008

Velodyne SMS-1 Subwoofer Processor Reviewed

The SMS-1 is a "standalone device that uses powerful software to analyze and compensate for room anomalies, which reduce the performance of your subwoofer." Reviewer Jim Swantko note that the difference the SMS-1made to his system was "jawdropping". It is extremely powerful and easy to operate Continue Reading
Velodyne SMS-1 Subwoofer Processor Reviewed

Oct 25, 2008

Paradigm Servo 15v2 Subwoofer Reviewed

If you're looking for a large subwoofer, this 15-inch driver fits the bill. It offers flexible controls, inputs and power settings which make it easy to integrate. This unit has "powerful dynamic bass response for both films and music." The bass "exhibits exceptional timbre" Continue Reading
Paradigm Servo 15v2 Subwoofer Reviewed

Oct 23, 2008

REL Acoustics Britannia B2 Subwoofer Reviewed

REL subwoofers were designed for two-channel systems as much as anything else. With regard to bass, which is what everybody wants to know about when rating subwoofers, our reviewer found the B2 performed well. It was "subtle" and "added weight that I didn't know was missing" Continue Reading
REL Acoustics Britannia B2 Subwoofer Reviewed

Oct 22, 2008

Sunfire True Subwoofer Super Junior Reviewed

The Sunfire True Subwoofer Super Junior packs a lot of punch (a 1,500-watt tracking downcoverter digital amp) in a small package (the unit is just 9-inches cubed). Our reviewer noted that this model "can still rock like Pantera." Because of its small size, it can be hidden in the corner of a room but still provide "amazingly, shockingly deep and loud bass" Continue Reading
Sunfire True Subwoofer Super Junior Reviewed

Oct 22, 2008

Revel Ultima SUB 30 Subwoofer Reviewed

One of the strengths of this powerful subwoofer is the room correction software which our reviewer found easy to use and "provides meaningful results that can't be obtained with other audiophile-grade subwoofers." The Ultima SUB 30 is also "visually pleasing to the eye as well as aurally pleasing to the ear" Continue Reading
Revel Ultima SUB 30 Subwoofer Reviewed

Oct 22, 2008

REL Acoustics T1 Subwoofer Reviewed

The REL Acoustics T1looks different from your average subwoofer and "makes a visual statement." More importantly, however, is the sound. Our reviewer noted this model "has the soul of an audiophile product and sound to match. Music lovers will be drawn to it" Continue Reading
REL Acoustics T1 Subwoofer Reviewed

Oct 22, 2008

Definitive Technology SuperCube I Subwoofer Reviewed

The SuperCube I is powered by a 1,500-watt class D digital amplifier and can be easily integrated into almost any type of home theater or music system. This model "produces deep and accurate bass with a very high output." It is reasonably priced and offers "extreme performance" which make it a great deal and a "must hear." Continue Reading
Definitive Technology SuperCube I Subwoofer Reviewed

Oct 21, 2008

Sunfire True Subwoofer EQ Reviewed

The Sunfire True Subwoofer EQ comes with room correction "complete with a small testing microphone that can help everyone get the most from their woofers." It can also put out a "very respectable" 110dB of volume. This is the original model of subwoofers and our reviewer notes it is an "absolute classic" Continue Reading
Sunfire True Subwoofer EQ Reviewed

Oct 20, 2008

JL Audio Fathom f112 Subwoofer Reviewed

The driver on the JL Audio Fathom f112 is a "modern marvel." Our reviewer found that it has "astonishing three-inch excursion and can rock you to your soul." It may cost a few dollars more, but "it is also fast, deep and has the spank to get you as low (and as loud) as you might want to go for your music and movies" Continue Reading
JL Audio Fathom f112 Subwoofer Reviewed

Oct 20, 2008

MartinLogan Depth i Subwoofer Reviewed

MartinLogan approaches their subwoofers "as musical devices rather than one-trick ponies." It provides a level of control that "makes it ideal for a variety of speaker systems." It excels with both music and movies and can "fill all but the largest rooms with blissful bass an even hang with the costlier competition" Continue Reading
MartinLogan Depth i Subwoofer Reviewed

Oct 20, 2008

Outlaw Audio LFM-1 Subwoofer Reviewed

This is the first subwoofer that Outlaw has produced and it left listeners quite impressed. While it may look unassuming and blend in to your room well, it exhibited "excellent mid-bass and tremendous punch for the money." It is "well-built, attractive and capable of deep, detailed bass" Continue Reading
Outlaw Audio LFM-1 Subwoofer Reviewed

Oct 17, 2008

JL Audio Gotham Subwoofer Reviewed

The JL Audio Gotham Subwoofer is "one of the fastest I've ever encountered, regardless of price." Our reviewer saw this model's front-mounted controls and auto room optimization are "absolute godsends." As for the sound, "when it comes to multi-channel music or movies, the Gotham is in a league all its own, with few rivals" Continue Reading
JL Audio Gotham Subwoofer Reviewed

Oct 13, 2008

Revel Performa B15a Subwoofer Reviewed

Our reviewer was impressed by the Revel Proforma B15a, noting it "has a musicality that you simply can not get from the 'small' category subwoofers." The room correction software "is as good as it gets." He concluded, "This woofer is designed to get you to the apex of musical heaven" Continue Reading
Revel Performa B15a Subwoofer Reviewed

Oct 13, 2008

Definitive Technology Trinity Subwoofer Reviewed

"This monster subwoofer goes to nuclear sub depths, bringing subsonic impact to your system in ways other subwoofers would simply fail to accomplish." In addition to having the power to go low, the Definitive Technology Trinity has the speed to keep up with the most demanding soundtracks Continue Reading
Definitive Technology Trinity Subwoofer Reviewed

Feb 15, 2007

AAD PL-100 / PL-200 / PL-200C / SD-10 Loudspeakers Reviewed

Our reviewer explained that great speakers involve you in the music and make you forget about speakers. "While I was listening to two-channel music, these were great speakers." The vocals were "very natural, open and airy." Overall, these speakers are "well built" and "offer high value..." Continue Reading
AAD PL-100 / PL-200 / PL-200C / SD-10 Loudspeakers Reviewed

Feb 15, 2006

Revel F12 Speakers and Revel B10 Subwoofer Reviewed

The Revel F12 speakers are those rare pieces that "look more expensive than their price." The sound was "surprisingly non-fatiguing" and "provided a fairly good soundstage and excellent imaging...the tweeter and midrange are rarely bright or harsh and vocals came through with great clarity" Continue Reading
Revel F12 Speakers and Revel B10 Subwoofer Reviewed

More Subwoofer Reviews: